Most employers have programs designed and in place to help reduce workplace injuries. A commitment to safety while working is important for employers and employees in New Jersey. However, if an injury occurs at work, it is your responsibility to report it. This is necessary because it may not be obvious that you need medical attention right away. For example, it could take hours to feel the effects of a strained back or sprained knee. If you fail to report an accident and then later decide to receive medical treatment, your employer could deny your benefits and time off work. When an accident is reported right away, potential problems with the claim can be prevented. Contact a professional attorney to assist you with your claim.
Failure to Report Workplace Injury
If you do not report a workplace injury in the appropriate time frame, you may be denied medical treatment and work benefits. The denial can happen because your employer may claim the accident did not happen at work. Additionally, any workers’ compensation insurance carrier will also question your employer as to why you did not report the accident promptly. It can become very problematic if your employer denies health benefits and time off because your private health insurance will not cover injuries that occurred at work. It’s important to realize most employers have a strict internal deadline of 24 hours to report any workplace injuries.
Reporting Workplace Injury
To avoid being denied workers’ compensation benefits or having your employer claim an injury did not occur while working, it’s important to report any injury immediately. Your employer or union representative will have a form for you to fill out and it’s best to turn the form in with a witness, preferably a co-worker who saw the accident occur. If you find yourself in the position where you need to report an accident late, it is still best to follow all of the recommendations mentioned above.
Common Workplace Injuries
Many workers’ compensation injuries revolve around the same type of injuries. Below is a list of the most common workplace injuries.
- Compression injuries
- Caught by an object
- Fall on the same level
- Fall from an elevation
- Struck by object
- Incidents on the highway
- Struck against an object
- Repetitive motions
- Violent acts
New Jersey Workers’ Compensation Benefits
New Jersey offers three types of Workers’ Compensation benefits including temporary disability benefits, medical treatment provided by your employer, and possibly a lump sum of money awarded for permanent injuries. New Jersey law allows injured workers up to 90 days to report workplace accidents, but an employer can impose much shorter deadlines. It’s not impossible to get workers’ compensation benefits for workplace injuries that are reported late, though it does impose more hurdles than if an accident was reported right away.
If you have been injured at work, you may be eligible for workers’ compensation benefits. If you have reported your injury late or been denied benefits, you will likely need legal representation to resolve your claim. Contact John L. Schettino immediately after any workplace injuries. He will review your case and guide you as to the next step.